Amazing Maize – Roasted Corn on Cob or Bhutta

Posted: May 9, 2010 by incidentalcooksuman in Indian Food, Street Food
Tags: , , , , , ,

One of the most nostalgic memory that corn brings is of having Bhutta or roasted corn on Cob in summer or rain. When we were at Farmer’s Market today we show most amazing fresh Maize and we jumped on it to try our hands at it.

The Bhutta wala is most enterprising roadside vendor in India, reminds me of the Bhutta walas near our college which was in Churchgate in Mumbai. There use to be streams of people waiting for there Bhutta, the vendor would roast the Maize on the slow flame of coals, fanning it with little hand fan to increase the flame. People would wait anxiously to get there Bhutta which would be coated with a coat of Lemon Juice and salt-red chillies powder. Wow that is when you realise simple things in life are good.

So we brought the corn home, removed the cover and we see most fresh looking corn kernels. We put it on gas flame to char it little and give it the lemon rub.

Voila…Bhutha…and bite of it you can get the sweetness of corn and kick of the lemon-salt-red chilly rub. That sounds as yummy as it taste.

So here we go, recipe and picture for your pleasure.

corn on cob

corn on cob

 

Bhutta/Roasted Corn

Bhutta/Roasted Corn

Comments
  1. After seeing ur’s yesterday i had it in restaurant dear,,very tasty yummy corn.

  2. Roasted corn is my favorite too…looks so inviting 🙂

  3. wow! love roasted corn especially the ones I would get from street vendors!

  4. Your post made me nostalgic…I love roasted corn ):

  5. My fav one, looks too good suman…

  6. Simply Life says:

    I’m not sure I’ve ever seen corn look so perfect!

  7. Hema says:

    Roasted Corn is very inviting. Love to have at anytime.

  8. Rumana Rawat says:

    This is a lovely one my all time favorite…

  9. incidentalcooksuman says:

    thanks everyone for visiting my blog n for ur kind comments…Happy mother’s Day to everyone…

  10. Malar Gandhi says:

    sorry I meant corn, made a typo’

  11. Malar Gandhi says:

    Happy Mother’s Day, dear. Wonderful roasted cron, brings lots of memories…

  12. happy mothers day to u….love the raosted corn…my fav…well roasted….nice clicks..

  13. Looks so tempting dear, Happy Mother’s Day to you too..

  14. Happy mother’s day dear 🙂

  15. You made me drool…on seeing the pic I really became jealous…I crave some now…could you send some???

Leave a Reply

