Spaghetti in tomato sauce

Posted: June 3, 2010 by incidentalcooksuman in Indian Food
Tags: , , , ,

Spaghetti in tomato sauce

This is the easiest tomato sauce I have ever made for pasta, it is very simple yet tastes divine.  As I have already said at my home me and my husband love to have pasta any time. The main ingredient for this recipe as the name suggests is tomatoes. I always like to use crushed tomatoes in my cooking as it give wonderful color to the food and also I do not have to go through the process of washing and chopping them.

Spaghetti in tomato sauce

Spaghetti in tomato sauce

Ingredients:

  • 6 ounces whole wheat or whole grain spaghetti
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 small white onion, chopped
  • 2 cups crushed tomatoes
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon red chilli flakes
  • 2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • salt to taste

Directions:

  • Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil and cook the pasta al dente. Drain and set aside.
  • Heat oil in a pan over medium high heat, add onions, garlic, red chili flakes and cook it for 2-3 minutes or until onions are translucent.
  • Now add crushed tomatoes, dried oregano, salt to taste and cook until oil separates.
  • Now add the cooked spaghetti and grated parmesan cheese to the sauce and mix everything well.
  • Garnish with little of parmesan cheese on top and serve.
Comments
  1. Padhu says:

    Looks fantastic

  2. Simply Life says:

    wow I should really try this! I’ve been wanting to make my own sauce but after a couple disasters I got hesitant to try again!

  3. mallugirl says:

    some of the tastiest things are the simplest recipes.

  4. Priya says:

    My kids love these sort of pastas, looks very tempting.

  5. That’s really delicious and lovely color too…

  6. Loved the rich red colour of this sphagetti. Looks lovely !!! 🙂

  7. Aparna says:

    Really the best way to eat spaghetti.

  8. Malar Gandhi says:

    I love this dish, pls pass me the plate:)

  9. Rachana says:

    My hubby and I love pasta too and thats our fixed saturday lunch 🙂 Spaghetti looks simply mouthwatering 🙂

  10. My wife and I just came back from our third trip to Sicily, where the spaghetti is always delicious — and looks exactly like your photo. I’ve been making sauce for many years, but it wasn’t until our first Sicily trip that I realized the sauce could be better. I just didn’t know how. I finally realize, and you’ve confirmed it, that the missing ingredient is onion. Unfortunately, my wife won’t eat anything with onion in it. Dilemma. Eat alone? Move to Sicily? What if I put the onion in whole, for flavor, then take it out?

  11. what a bful color…..looks yum n delcious….great mouthwatering dish..

  12. sms says:

    wow lovely Spaghetti looks yummy great post

  13. uma says:

    easy pasta ! lovely colour! 🙂

  14. Its so easy but am sure it will very delicious as well…lovely sauce for the spaghetti…

Leave a Reply

