Arugula Salad

Posted: June 22, 2010 by incidentalcooksuman in Indian Food
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

 Arugula Salad   

Before making anything with this beautiful looking greens I have decided to taste and must say Arugula tastes peppery and has a strong flavour for a leafy green. This salad I have adapted from Barefoot Contessa – Back to Basics by Ina Garten which I got on my birthday as a present. As I am showing lots of interest in cooking these days, so my dear hubby gifted me these two cooking books, the other one is Giada’s Family Dinners. After getting this and browsing through the recipes I cannot decide what to make as everything looks delicious to me.  

So, I gave this choice to my hubby to decide what he wants from the book and he said this colorful salad which is so refreshing for this season.   

Arugula Salad

Arugula Salad

 Ingredients:   

  • 5 ounce baby Arugula leaves
  • 2 chicken leg pieces
  • 1 large granny smith apple, peeled and diced
  • 1/4 cup toasted walnuts, coarsely chopped
  • 1/4 dried cranberries

For the dressing:   

  • 1 tablespoon apple sider vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon grated orange zest
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon freshly squeezed orange juice
  • 1 teaspoon honey
  • salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

 Preparation:  

  • Preheat oven to 400 deg fahrenheit.
  • Coat chicken leg pieces with generous amount of salt, pepper and olive oil and roast in for 40-45 minutes. Cool of completely and take the bones out and cut into small bite sized chunks.
  • In a large mixing bowl, toss together the arugula leaves, chicken pieces,  apple, walnuts and cranberries and keep it aside.
  • Combine everything under dressing except salt and slowly whisk to incorporate well.
  • Toss the salad with just enough dressing to moisten. Sprinkle with pinch of salt and toss well. Serve immediately.

Comments
  1. Shubham says:

    Where can I buy rocket leaves/arugula in Bangalore?

  2. sosamma says:

    yummy indeed. i should try this. do you know its Indian name? my husband today brought this leaf for salad and was wondering what to do with it. in the middle east it is known as jirjir or jarjeer and is Arab’s favorite. I was surprised to learn that this unassuming green leaves indeed carry lots of nutrients. [check it out: http://nutritiondata.self.com/facts/vegetables-and-vegetable-products/3025/2 ] I also found one good veg salad on the following site [ http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Arugula-Salad-with-Citrus-Vinaigrette/Detail.aspx?prop31=1 ]

  3. Simply Life says:

    yum! What a fresh and healthy salad!

  4. Pravs says:

    love salads..and this one looks yum with all that ingredients.

  5. Sridevi says:

    I like this Rucola salad. your recipe is also good. Nice and colorful.

  6. Neha says:

    nicely prepared Suman..I am a veggie and never tasted Arugula…but your recipe sounds delicious 🙂

  7. Neha says:

    nicely prepared suman..I am a veggie and never tatsed arugula…but your recipe sounds delicious

  8. Deepa says:

    Never heard of this leaf….
    Looks healthy and refreshing salad
    Deepa

    Hamaree Rasoi

  9. Devaki says:

    Hi Suman – Real pleased I stumbled upon your blog here. I adore arugula. In fact am going to smother a pizza with it in just a few minutes!

    Ciao, Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

    PS – Can’t beat the ppeerfy flavors of arugula – nothing quite like it eh?

  10. Chetana says:

    Tis is one refereshing salad…just had it yesterday for lunch, but wit calamaris…simply luv it

  11. Krishnaveni says:

    i know this leaves but never tried…looks interesting…must be tasty

  12. Priya says:

    Wat a healthy and refreshing salad, never tried arugula leaves as anything..thanks for sharing.

  13. arthi says:

    Suman,
    healthy and tasty salad!!

  14. i like her recipes and the way she is presenting i superb.. this salad is really healthy and yum . planning to make some dish with leaves.. good one dear

  15. uma says:

    never tasted arugula..
    i do watch barefoot contessa show .. you chose a nice one..

  16. Malar Gandhi says:

    Oh this is my fav’ always order the same one repeatedly at the restaurants. Looks yummm:)

  17. Suja Sugathan says:

    Salad looks inviting and sure is healthy..never heard of this leaf before..must search for this one.

  18. i have not heard abt this leaf but salad looks frssh and healthy

  19. Rach says:

    Very new for me . Looks healthy and nice 🙂

  20. Here they call this leaf as rucola. I tasted it recently. I loved its taste. The salad looks inviting 🙂

  21. Rachana says:

    I never say no to Salad and this one loooks so fresh and yumm!

  22. Tes says:

    The recipe sounds fresh and healthy. I love the dressing. It seems tasty. I will try this for lunch soon.

Leave a Reply

