Aloo/Potato Paratha

Posted: July 14, 2010 by incidentalcooksuman in Indian Food
Tags: , , , , ,

Aloo/Potato Paratha

Aloo paratha is the staple food in every house in india. This stuffed paratha used to be there in my lunch box once in a week. I love to eat this just by rolling it in my hand with some pickle and curd. Sometimes I just eat it like that. I do not know about any body else but I never get bored with this food. So keep making this once in a while.  So, here’s goes the recipe for my version or to be precise my mom’s version of aloo paratha. I hope you make this and treat yourself.

Aloo/Potato Paratha

Aloo/Potato Paratha

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups whole wheat flour, kneaded
  • 2 large potatoes, boiled, peeled and mashed
  • 2 green chillies, de-vined and chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon ajwain
  • 1/2 teaspoon turmeric powder
  • 2 garlic cloves, chopped and minced
  • 1/2 red onion, chopped
  • 1/4 teaspoon garam masala
  • 1/4 teaspoon red chilli powder
  • 1/4 cup chopped green coriander leaves
  • Salt to taste
  • Oil for greasing paratha

Preparation:

  • Knead dough as you do it to make roti’s and keep it in a fridge for sometime, so that it gets little easier to handle the dough while stuffing.
  • Boil the potatoes in pressure cooker for 2 whistle and let the cooker cool down and then open the lid.
  • Take out the potatoes from the cooker and let it cool down enough for you to handle with hand.
  • Peel it and then mash the same.
  • To the mashed potatoes, add onions, green chillies, red chilli powder, garlic, turmeric powder, ajwain, garam masala powder, salt to taste and coriander leaves.
  • Mix everything well using your hand. Stuffing for aloo paratha is ready.
  • Divide the dough into ball-sized portions and roll between your hands till they are smooth and without cracks.
  • Take this ball sized dough and make a small pouch to fill the stuffing and gently close the pouch by joining all the sides together.
  • Press this stuffed pouch in between your palms to flatten it, so that you can roll it into circle.
  • Heat the griddle and fry the paratha by glazing the oil on the surface of the paratha. Repeat this for the other side of paratha too.
  • The paratha is done when both the side is golden brown or crispy.
  • Serve it with curd and pickles of your choice.
Aloo/Potato Paratha

Aloo/Potato Paratha

Comments
  1. sangeeta says:

    Hi Suman …….this is my first visit to your lovely blog , clicked from Sook’s blog..

    you have a wonderful collection of recipes.

  2. Aloo paratha are my all-time favourite! Your recipe sounds delicious! I love ajwain!

  3. prani says:

    delicious one.. evertime fav .. like to hv the same with curd n pickle

  4. momgateway says:

    I enjoy Indian dishes…wish I could cook it more

  5. Namitha says:

    My most fav paratha…Hope you are doing great..

  6. vrinda says:

    Nice paratha,looks perfect,lov to hav it with yogurt

  7. sanjeeta kk says:

    Lovely and a great comfort food! Love it always.

  8. Padhu says:

    My favorite paratha!! Looks superb

  9. Satrupa says:

    Hi Suman,

    New to your space ….. but itz luv at first sight !! Very nice blog n recipes.

    Cheers n Happy Cooking
    Satrupa

  10. These parathas sound wonderful! the ingredients the whole-wheat flour the potatoes and the spices must combine to make something addictive!

  11. Mary says:

    These really do look wonderful. I hope you are having a great day. Blessings…Mary

  12. arthi says:

    hey suman,
    parathas looks so perfect and tempting!!

  13. Simply Life says:

    wow, I want mine to come out like yours! This looks soooo good!

  14. Joanne says:

    I love stuffed parathas like this one. Truly the perfect breakfast.

  15. Deepa says:

    Would you like to share 2 parathas with me 🙂 yummy yummy

    Hamaree Rasoi

  16. Priya says:

    I can have this paratha anytime, love it that much..yummmm!!

  17. Krishnaveni says:

    delicious aloo paratha, this is one of my favourires, great

  18. one of my fav too,can have it anyday….looks very delicious suman

  19. yummy n mouthwatering….simply superb…drooooling here…

  20. satya says:

    wow delicious aloo paraths …looks divine ..its my favorite , i can have them anytime n anywhere ….suman thanks for the wonderful tip about the dough

Leave a Reply

