Dal Palak And Some Awards

Posted: July 28, 2010 by incidentalcooksuman in Dal/Lentils soup, Indian Food
Tags: , , , , , ,

Dal Palak 

I have already confessed that I am not a big fan of green leafy vegetable. So, I keep sneaking this veggies in my regular dishes in that way I will get my regular intake of veggies and I happily enjoy them too. And I am really getting good at it. So, I always keep some green leafy veggies and substitute in my dishes for the color and of course for healthy reason. 

I am going to share this simple dal recipe with palak/Spinach which is perfect with some hot rice. 

Dal Palak

Dal Palak

So, here goes the recipe for the same: 

Ingredients: 

For dal:     

  • 1/2 cup yellow dal( Arhar dal)
  • 1/2 cup red lentils/orange dal( split masoor dal)
  • 1/2 teaspoon turmeric powder
  • salt to taste

  For dal tadka:  

  • 2 cup baby spinach, roughly chopped
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 teaspoon grated ginger
  • 1/2  teaspoon turmeric powder
  • 1/2 medium tomato, chopped
  • 1/4 cup crushed tomatoes
  • 1 green chillies, de-vined, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon garam masala powder
  • 2 tablespoon oil
  • 1 teaspoon cumin seeds
  • Salt to taste   

 PREPARATION:    

  •  Wash and pressure cook dal with turmeric powder, salt to taste and 2 cups of water.
  • Heat oil in a pan over medium heat, add cumin seeds and let it get brown.
  • Add chopped onions, garlic, ginger, green chillies and cook until onions get translucent.
  • Add chopped tomatoes, crushed tomatoes, turmeric powder, garam masala powder, coriander powder and salt to taste, cook until masala separates from oil about 3-4 minutes.
  • Now add spinach to the masala and cook for 3-4 minutes or until the leaves are quilted.
  • Add  cooked dal in the pan with some water for consistency. Stir well and give a boil.
  • Serve hot with rice and desi ghee on top.
Dal Palak served with Rice

Dal Palak served with Rice

Some Awards 

This is the first award pass on to me by Aipi of USMasala…I have recently started visiting her blog and needless to say fall in love with her recipes and the tempting pics of them. Yesterday, only I was going through her slide show linked through picasa web albums and was really impressed with her cooking skills and photographs. My advise to everyone who visits me is that please have a look at her blog and you will get to know what I am talking about. Most of you have already familiar with her blog.

 

Thank you once again Aipi for this recognition. Appreciated. 

In order to accept this award she has set up some guidelines..so, following that: 

Here are some 7 random facts about me: 

I love my hubby and son more than anything in life. 

I have started cooking after getting married and as you can see I am getting an expert on this..:) 

I am person who take time to open up with people. 

I love shopping, travelling and trying out different cusinies.

I love sea and can spend the whole day stirring at it..its so relaxing. 

I love all snack food especially vada pav, bhel puri, pani puri and the list goes on. 

I am not a big fan of sports but yeah sometimes drag myself to give company to my dearest husband.

 

I would like to share the same with some of my bloggers friends who I visit and their recipes amaze me everytime:

Sushma

Namitha

Sayantani

Satya

Swathi

Tes

Juliana

Joanne

Tasteofbeirut

SimplyLife

Manju Rajendra

Uma

Priya

Sook

PraniKitchen

 

To accept this award the guidelines are:

  1. Thank the person who pass on this award to you.
  2.  Tell  Seven random thoughts about yourself.
  3. Pass the award on to 15 bloggers who you think are fantastic.

.

Comments
  1. Mythreyi says:

    Healthy gravy, i’m ready for it all time dear:)

  2. uma says:

    Congrats on the award! Thanks for passing it to me!
    loved reading about you..

  3. Urmi says:

    Heartiest congratulations to you for your award.
    Dal palak looks fabulous. Healthy and yummy dish.

  4. Nandini says:

    The dal palak is protein-full and congrats on the awards!

  5. Joanne says:

    Thanks so much for the award! I love this veggieful dish!

  6. Panchpakwan says:

    Palak dal looks comforting…
    Congarts on Awards Suman…Keep on rocking..

  7. Deepa says:

    Dal Palak looks great . Loved the clicks . Very healthy preparation.

    Deepa
    Hamaree Rasoi

  8. Dear Suman,

    Thank you very much for sharing the award. Congratulations !!! Nice to know few things about you. Thank you once again for the kindness.

    Love
    Manju

  9. Simply Life says:

    Thank you so much for passing along this award to me!

  10. Indrani says:

    yummy and healthy dal palak…congrats on ur award

  11. Sridevi says:

    Your dhal palak makes me hungry….Congrats on your award!!!!

  12. Priya says:

    Healthy dal palak makes me drool, congrats on ur award and thanks a lot for sharing with me dear..

  13. Krishnaveni says:

    congrats on your award suman, curry looks healthy and delicious

  14. Valarmathi says:

    Healthy and yummy one, looks tempting and delicious.

  15. Priti says:

    Looks yum..one of my fav…

  16. Dal palak is one of my fav with rice, yours too look so delicious & very healthy…and congrats on your award suman,you deserve a lot more and thanks so much for sharing this with me as well…really very sweet of you and it was lovely knowing few things abt you as well

  17. Tes says:

    Congrats on the awards! You really deserve it… your blog is really beautiful and many recipes I tried from here turned out to be so perfect.
    Thanks for passing the awards to me! I really appreciate it!
    It really make my day… I will write about this soon in my blog 🙂
    Thanks again and have a wonderful day!
    P.S. wow…do you know that dal palak is just one of my baby favourite! It looks super yummy here 🙂

  18. Aipi says:

    i so love greens in my daal.. looks so comforting
    thanx dear 4 the lovely words ..i am flattered 🙂
    keep rocking!

  19. dal palak looks so delicious. i really love this combination.. with rice wow superb..nice platter with colorful pappad. suman
    congrats on ur award.. and thanks for sharing the same with me i am so happy to accept this..

  20. Swathi says:

    Suman,

    Dal palak looks delicious, congrats on your award.Wishing you many more to come. Thanks for sharing the award with me.

  21. Sayantani says:

    I love vegetables except beet and dal palak is my favourite. we generally make it with mung dal. you did a great job here dear. love every morsel of that delectable dal-chawal-papad combo. yummy
    congrats on your award and trust me you truly deserve it. you have awesome recipes which are healthy, delicious and the best part is you mostly cook with common ingredients all available in the kitchen. great work suman and thanks a bunch for remembering me in receiving this. am truly touched.

  22. satya says:

    congrats dear for ur first award ,u really deserve more ,happy to know more about u too …one thing i realized we have some similar taste too …this dal looks really delicious …love spinach in any form …thank u suman for sharing this award with me n it means a lot to me
    Satya
    http://www.superyummyrecipes.com

Leave a Reply

