Sandwich with Egg Omelette and Tomato Spread

Posted: August 5, 2010 by incidentalcooksuman in Indian Food
Tags: , , , , , , ,
Recipe Yields: 2 Servings
 
Sandwich with Egg Omelette and Tomato Spread
 

I know this sandwich is very simple and anyone can think off. But I love simple yet tasty dishes to eat. For me the dish should look good before even I tried them out, I know I am crazy but that’s how I am. My mom use to scold me a lot because I was such a picky eater.  Now I understand what all she has to go through with such a picky eater like me. Thank God my 18 month old son is not like me. He is just like his dad who happily eat whatever I make without any complains.

Sandwich with Egg Omelette and Tomato Spread

Sandwich with Egg Omelette and Tomato Spread

For the tomato Spread:

  • 1 cup crushed tomatoes
  • 1/2 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 small onion, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon olive oil
  • salt to taste

Preparation:

  • Heat oil in a pan over medium heat, add garlic, onions, green bell pepper and cook until onions are translucent.
  • Add crushed tomatoes, dried oregano, salt to taste and cook until oil separates.
  • Cool the tomato sauce before layering on the bread.

For the egg Omelette:

  • 2 extra-large eggs
  • 1/4 teaspoon or a pinch of freshly grounded black pepper
  • salt to taste

Crack the eggs and whisk slightly with a fork mix them with black pepper and salt.

Heat a pan on medium high heat, brush generously with olive oil and then pour the egg mixture into the pan and spread just like you will do it for crepe or dosa. It should be very thin.  Cook both the side slightly golden brown and transfer to a plate and cool off.

Assembling of the Sandwich:

  • To assemble the sandwiches cut the bread into halves and slightly toast the same on the grill by keeping the cut side down.
  • Spread the bottom half of the bread with the tomato spread and half of the egg omelette.
  • Cover with top half of the ciabatta bread and cut into triangles to serve.

 

Sandwich with Egg Omelette and Tomato Spread

Sandwich with Egg Omelette and Tomato Spread

Comments
  1. Even though I am not crazy about eggs, I love the idea of egg and tomato and to make it into a sandwich is a fantastic thought.

  2. Tes says:

    I love this recipe. I made similar sandwich but with mozzarela cheese, too. I love your tomato spread! It’s genius 🙂

  3. Sridevi says:

    I like the tomato spread recipe on the bread. With Omelette it will taste wonderful.

  4. Valarmathi says:

    Easy one, looks tempting and delicious.

  5. Joanne says:

    I love finding simple recipes because I so often forget they’re out there! Thanks for posting this!

  6. Simply Life says:

    oh that sandwich looks delicious!

  7. rebecca says:

    wow this is a killer sandwich love it

  8. Mary says:

    This is a wonderfully simple and most delicious type of sandwich. Yours looks lovely and would be a perfect lunch on these warm days. I hope you are having a great day. Blessings…Mary

  9. Nandini says:

    Simply delicious!

  10. thats so good .. .this sandwich is really good and very simple too. liked the tomato spread..

  11. Lizy says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog Suman. Lovely sandwich…

  12. ruchikacooks says:

    Grab and Go Sandwich! Looks delish Suman!

  13. Swathi says:

    I like the egg omelette and tomato spread. Delicious, healthy sandwich.

  14. vrinda says:

    Simple n healthy sandwich….

  15. Nice click suman and a very delicious sandwiches yet a very easy one as well…

  16. Krishnaveni says:

    sandwich looks delicious, you are really lucky to have son who happily eat whatever you prepare, great

  17. Deepa says:

    Hi Suman

    The sandwich look to be super delicious and tomato spread must have made it even more tastier. Very easily prepared.

    Deepa
    Hamaree Rasoi

  18. Aipi says:

    nice idea 4 a quick n easy sandwich..loved the recipe of the tomato spread..

  19. satya says:

    wow sandwich looks very tempting …easy healthy and delicious one ..love the home made tomato sauce ,with combo of omelet..awesome…thanks for sharing suman
    Satya
    http://www.superyummyrecipes.com

Leave a Reply

