Udon noodles in Veggies

Posted: August 25, 2010 by incidentalcooksuman in Noodles
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Udon noodles in Veggies

I like to make easy breezy dinner on the weekends. I got an idea of this dinner from Wegmans pamphlet, So I looked in on the site and got the recipe which I have modified according to our taste and liking. This is non-vegetarian version of the noodles but if you are vegetarian you can also try out this recipe with mushrooms and I can guarantee you that you will not be disappointed.

Udon noodles in Veggies

Udon noodles in Veggies

Ingredients:

  • 2 chicken breast, cut in long strips
  • 2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 white onion, sliced
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 portabla mushroom, gills removed, sliced
  • 1 green bell pepper, sliced
  • 1 cup sweet snap peas
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon oyster sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly grounded black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon red chilli flakes
  • 2 teaspoon kikkoman soya sauce
  • salt to taste
  • 1/2 cup chopped green onions
  • 2 servings of Udon Noodles(Japanese wheat noodles), cook as per the direction on package.

Preparation:

  • Heat oil in a pan over medium high heat and add the chicken pieces and cook until they are golden brown. Once done keep it aside.
  • Meanwhile, heat oil in another  pan over medium high heat, add onions followed by garlic and red chilli flakes.
  • Add the veggies and cook for 3-4 minutes or until the veggies are tender.
  • Add the sauces , cooked chicken pieces, salt to taste, freshly grounded black pepper and mix everything well.
  • Toss in the cooked noodles and garnish with chopped spring onions and serve.
Udon noodles in Veggies

Udon noodles in Veggies

 

Comments
  1. Am bookmarking this Suman….shall try it on lazy weekends 🙂

  2. kothiyavunu says:

    Yum.I do something similar too. Though, I must admit,I haven’t made it for a while now, you’ve just given me the inspiration 🙂

  3. Tes says:

    It looks yummy and fresh! I love Udon, too…especially with broth. I will try this version, soon 🙂

  4. bergamot says:

    The noodles look great

  5. Nandini says:

    The noodles are lovely and it’s a must try!

  6. Priya says:

    Feel like grabbing that droolworthy dish, i love udon noodles..

  7. Looks so yum, nice recipe suman,thanks for sharing

  8. Chetana says:

    Hey Suman…tis is my kind of quick fix…never tried udon noodles like tis…

  9. Swathi says:

    Suman,

    I like udon, I need to try desi version of it. Looks delicious. I will give it try.

  10. MaryMoh says:

    I’ve been thinking of udon. Now I’m drooling over this….looks very delicious….mmm

  11. this may be easy breezy but judging by the list of ingredients it is also delicious!

  12. SE says:

    hey Suman,

    Thanks for stopping by at my blog !! you have a wonderful space too with tempting pics and recipes !

  13. satya says:

    noodles looks super delicious …yummy
    Satya
    http://www.superyummyrecipes.com

  14. Tanvi says:

    Hey Suman,
    I just wanna sluuurrrp! 🙂 I am new to these noodles.Ate them last month at a japanese restaurant & liked them.Now I ll use your indianized version to try them!
    Loovely click btw!

  15. Aipi says:

    This is totally new to me..looks super delicious.Will try it with mushrooms!:)

  16. That’s a tempting platter..Never tried using Japanese Noodles will check out this week !!!

  17. Krishnaveni says:

    never tried this noodles, looks inviting

Leave a Reply

