Banana Walnut Bread

Posted: March 16, 2011 by incidentalcooksuman in Baking, Bread, Breakfast, Cake
Tags: , , , , , ,

The funny thing about this post is whenever I feel like making/baking something with banana, I would be out of banana at home. Then I have to buy most ripen banana from the store which I regularly not even touch..:)..For the reason that this will not even last two or three days .

To be honest banana bread is the most easy and delicious thing to bake at home.After getting the main ingredient I decided to make this for our weekend breakfast and the best part is it does not require a mixer.

I would say this is the best banana bread recipe I have ever tried. The result is an super moist and perfect bread to serve for breakfast or anytime in between.

I gave a slice of banana bread to my son and  asked him “How is it baby?” and his verdict was YUMMY MOMMY…:)

Banana Walnut Bread

Banana Walnut Bread

Ingredients:

  • 3 ripe banana, smashed
  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup walnut, chopped
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 tablespoon milk
  • pinch of salt

 

Method:

  • Preheat your oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit. Lightly grease a loaf pan so that the bread comes out easily and does not stick.
  • In a bowl, mix flour, baking soda, salt and keep it aside. This will be your dry ingredients.
  • Take a large mixing bowl, mix butter and sugar until the sugar melts. Add eggs, vanilla, milk , walnuts  and mashed bananas. Mix everything until compelety blended.
  • Now add the dry ingredients in batches and incorporate well.
  • Pour the prepared batter in loaf pan.
  • Bake in preheated oven for 60 to 65 minutes, until a tooth pick inserted into center of the loaf, comes out clean.
  • Let bread cool in pan for about 15 minutes, remove from pan and slice to serve.
Banana Walnut Bread

Banana Walnut Bread

 

Recipe Adapted from: Simplyrecipes.com

Comments
  1. sujatha mohan says:

    could you pls clarify this doubt… when u say 3 bananas , is there any specific type. Have usually seen robusta being used. approx how much would the mashed banana be in ” cups”

  2. Nithu says:

    Bread looks warm and inviting.

  3. leena says:

    Soft and scrumptious bread…yummy!

  4. kavita says:

    Suman, I can totally vouch for this one as this is my favorite bread and I love the way your bread looks,I can bet on the moistness and the yummy taste quotient 🙂

  5. You just reminded me I have not made banana bread in a long time!!!!!!!Love it and this one is simple and full of downhome goodness!

  6. Simply Life says:

    oh this is one of my favorite kinds of bread!

  7. Love that flavor while baking…..bread looks so fluffy and soft. Nice one dear.

  8. rebecca says:

    wonderful banana brea recipe

  9. My friend baked it for my B’day last year, i love it…should sometime by myself, looks great!

  10. Looks beautiful and yummy!

  11. Sarah Naveen says:

    My Fav…looks so yumm and perfect!!!

  12. Love love love banana bread and I can’t believe how good and moist this looks Suman 🙂

    chow! Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  13. Sridevi says:

    Love Banana flavour in cakes and the unique texture inside.

  14. Looks so beautiiful , walnuts gives such great crunch to this..no wonder ur kid loved it:)

  15. aipi says:

    Agreed..relatively easy to make and always delicious! Getting a compliment from your little ones definitely proves it 🙂

    US Masala

  16. kshipra says:

    wow! banana bread look moist and delicious. yum yum!!

  17. Joanne says:

    I LOVE banana bread and it’s always fun to find new recipes for it! This looks delicious.

  18. YUM!!!! That sounds AMAZING!!! 😀 I love Banana Bread! 😀

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  19. Kankana says:

    I have heard so much about banana bread and I like banana a lot! Wonder why i never made those 🙂 These looks perfectly baked!

  20. kothiyavunu says:

    Super duper tempting banana bread…Feel like having some slices..i too posted this long back..love this very much..

  21. Mary says:

    This looks truly moist and delicious. I really like banana bread and your recipe for it is especially nice. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  22. Priya says:

    Fantastic bread, love this combo very much, can have it anytime..

  23. Swathi says:

    we are banana bread fans, this one looks soft and moist.

  24. Soft and delicious bread,love this combo..perfect and healthy breakfast.

  25. Priti says:

    The same thing happens with me too 🙂 ….bread looks so perfect and very yummy

  26. Rosa says:

    That is a yummy combo! Your cake looks delicious and so soft.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  27. Harika says:

    Bread looks yummy and tasty.

  28. Suma says:

    Same with me! I try to plan ahead so that I have ripe bananas when I bake. The bread looks very inviting Suman, love the banana walnut combo..

  29. Panchpakwan says:

    Banana bread looks yummy..Can have it anytime of the day. 🙂

  30. Deepa says:

    Gosh !! I feel like making this right now…but sadly there is only one banana sitting on my kitchen counter….your’s look great dear

    Deepa
    Hamaree Rasoi

  31. Vimitha says:

    Looks super moist and soft… Would be a treat to have it anytime 🙂

  32. Wow.. looks so soft and delicious !!

    Indian Cuisine

Leave a Reply

