Hakka is word referred to a community in china and the term Hakka literally means the ‘guest among us’. The people in this community are famous for their hard work and simplicity. They often migrate from one place to another through out the world. Despite of their frequent migration they are famous for keeping their traditions alive. This is where the name was inspired for this very popular Indo-Chinesse dish.

I love Indo-chinese food. Now some of you guys out there wondering what is this Indo-chinese food. Its like chinese food are prepared in such way that suits indian palate. When I first moved to US and decided one day to order some chinese food. And to my surprise I did not find any familiar dishes on the menu like the top most ‘Hakka noodles’, Gobi Manchurian, Chilli Chicken and so on.

I was bit disappointed at that time as these use to be my favorite food and now I will not get any of these here. So, in order to fulfill my craving I have decided to try some of the dishes at home.

The key behind making this dish is you have cook on high heat without burning the vegetables and over cooking them. Also, preferably all the veggies need to be cut in slices about the same size.

Hakka Noodles

Hakka Noodles

Ingredients:
  • 1 package Chings Hakka egg noodles or any Egg Noodles
  • 2 teaspoon olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, thinly sliced
  • 2 inch ginger, thinly sliced
  • 1 large carrots, cut in Julienne
  • 1 cup cabbage, thinly sliced
  • 7-8 button mushrooms, thinly sliced
  • 1 green bell pepper, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 white pepper powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon hot sauce
  • 1 teaspoon red chilli sauce
  • 2 tablespoon dark soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon sesame oil
  • 1/4 cup green onions, chopped
Method:
  • To start with, cook noodles as per package instructions. Once done keep it in cold water till you needed.
  • Meanwhile, heat oil in a large skillet and add ginger, garlic, onions and cook until onions are slightly translucent.
  • Add carrots, cabbage, green bell pepper and mushrooms to the pan and cook the veggies al dente over high heat.
  • Mix dark soy sauce, white pepper powder, red chilli sauce, white vinegar and worcestershire sauce in one bowl. Pour the sauce mixture on the vegetable and stir well so that it coat all the veggies. Add salt if needed.
  • Drain and add boiled noodles to the pan and toss gently.
  • Add sesame oil on top and sprinkle with green onions and serve hot. Enjoy!
Hakka Noodles

Hakka Noodles

Comments
  1. Rosa says:

    Noodles are so delicious and your dish looks mighty scrummy!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. Joanne says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever had Indo-Chinese food but the way you describe it makes it sound so delicious! I love this noodle dish!

  3. Seema says:

    Hi Suman,

    Thanks for dropping by my blog and leaving your comment. First time at your space and its awesome. I have seen several other blogs hosted in WordPress but this is the best of all that I have come across in terms of layout.

    Hakka noodles has come out perfect. The clicks make me drool… You have a lovely blog dear. Happy to be following you.

    Regards,
    Seema
    amchi-bong-konnexion.blogspot.com
    seemabbas.blogspot.com

  4. kshipra says:

    noodles look so yummy. making me hungry!

  5. looks so good adore noodles J says when she grows up she will make for daddy!!

  6. I have been craving for thai noodles for past two days and ur halla noodles is no less, mouthwatering 🙂

  7. Mary says:

    I love these noodles. I’m so glad to now have a recipe for them. Yours look delicious. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  8. Sarah Naveen says:

    love this..beautiful clicks..

  9. Looks yummy! Addition of veggies makes it much healthier…..

  10. Joyti says:

    Oo, this sounds good. I wish I had lived in India (I was born in the U.S.), I am in love with the idea of Indo-Chinese, and its so hard to find state-side.
    Also, the nutrela recipe below looks so good! I’ve seen it called ‘wheat gluten’ at Whole Foods, and seriously marked up in price!

  11. Rachu says:

    wow.. yummy looks and flavrful noodles
    ammaandbaby.blogspot.com/

  12. Raks says:

    My favorite!! I am drooling for past 2 minutes!

  13. Sendhil says:

    We love this very much..have tried many times. Looks very nice. clicks are too good 🙂

  14. RS says:

    Looks Gorgeous:)

  15. Rumana Rawat says:

    Amazing Dish.. I have a event running in my blog. do participate:)
    http://rumanarawat.blogspot.com/2011/03/treat-to-eyes-series-2.html

  16. Rumana Rawat says:

    Amazing dish:) i have a event running in my blog do participate:)
    http://rumanarawat.blogspot.com/2011/03/treat-to-eyes-series-2.html

  17. Kankana says:

    I was planning to have salad for dinner and now I am craving for the noodle. So simple and tasty.. yummmyyyy. I would like it if you share this dish with Hearth and Soup Hop. Visit my post to link 🙂 Thanks!

  18. Pushpa says:

    Simply irresistible noodles.

  19. Sunitha says:

    Awesome! Looks very good.

  20. I just love these hakka noodles its been such a long time since I prepared this , drooling after seeing urs noodles …looks delicious!

  21. Very interesting post! Love to learn especially about cuisines I am unfamiliar with and dishes I don’t know about such as this one.

  22. Simply Life says:

    what a great tradition to learn about! this dish looks delicious!

  23. Swathi says:

    I was not familiar with indo chinese food, but this hakka noodles was yumm. Love to try them

  24. Priya says:

    Omg, just drooling over that plate, truly irresistible..

  25. Panchpakwan says:

    Hakka noodle looks delicious..all time fav…:)

  26. I love Indian Chinese! I feel kinda bad because I think I like it more than regular Chinese food. I also love me some noodles so I’ve definitely bookmarked this recipe!

  27. loved the clicks!! its so beautiful and so very tempting…

  28. aipi says:

    Ooooh! Yummy, just want this plate of noodles 🙂

    US Masala

  29. Priti says:

    Looks just so gud n yum ….make me to crave for some

  30. Harika says:

    wow mouth watering. This clicks and recipe makes me drooling. Awesome.

  31. Padhu says:

    Wow Looks delicious!

  32. Pretty new to me..thanks for the info.

Leave a Reply

