Bhindi/Okra Fry

Posted: March 30, 2011 by incidentalcooksuman in Indian Food
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Woke up early morning to see the match and I will not say I am crazy about cricket but whenever there’s match between this two countries, I don’t know how and from where I get the craziness and interest to watch every bit of it. Go India go…God bless India!

I hope India wins this match and of course the final too. This will most probably be Sachin Tendulkar’s last world cup and it would be great to have world cup champ on his cap. He is such a legendary cricketer and great Indian. I wonder whats is happening in India today, whenever there’s match like this whole India is glued to the TV screens. There is silence on streets and shouting in homes.

Here is the World Cup theme song for Team India…enjoy…Jai Hind…

Now coming back to today’s post…

Bhindi or Okra is a vegetable dish served with hot roti’s or paratha’s. I love okra like no other veggie. Whenever mom used to ask me what vegetable would you like to eat and my prompt reply used to be Bhindi..even though I would had that for my last meal. My friends used to say no need to ask her what she is going to have for lunch. So, by now you must have guessed how obsessed I am with this veggie. As soon as I make this simple yet deliciously good sabzi, I don’t feel like wasting a moment to dig in. May be because of that I haven’t posted a single recipe with this veggie yet. It will not be fair to okra if I do not post a single dish with this.

I like this veggie with very less masala, sometimes I just fry them with salt and red chilli powder and eat. Initially when I started cooking I always end up destroying the veggie during cooking process. Still it used to taste better to me compared to other dishes…:)
Also, this is one veggie which I never get bored eating.

Bhindi/Okra fry

Bhindi/Okra fry

Ingredients:

  • 1lb fresh okra
  • 3 medium white onions, sliced
  • 1 teaspoon cumin seeds
  • 2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon turmeric powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon coriander powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon red chilli powder
  • salt to taste

Method:

  • Wash, cut head and tail end off of each okra. Chop okra into small round pieces.
  • Heat oil in deep skillet, add cumin seeds and let it gets brown.
  • Add onions and fry until it turns light brown or translucent.
  • Add turmeric powder, coriander powder, red chilli powder and salt to taste. Mix well and cook for 2-3 minutes more.
  • Now add okra and mix well with onion masala mixture. Cook for 7-8 minutes or until the veggie is tender and cooked.
  • Serve hot with roti or parathas.
Bhindi/Okra fry

Bhindi/Okra fry

Comments
  1. we won! wat a lovely match was it, isn’t? and bhindi and roti wonderful combination 🙂

  2. sharmi says:

    I add tomaotes too! Today I made the same:) nice and inviting pics!

  3. Kankana says:

    I am with you on this! I am not a cricket fan at all .. but when it PAK and IND .. have to HAVE To watch 😀 I was doing all baale baalee when we WON … waiting for Saturday .. INDIA has to win !!!

  4. RS says:

    Fabulous Okra fry:) My favorite one…

  5. San says:

    Okra fry is so appealing ,i like to have it with rotis .India will eventually win the world cup .Keeping fingers crossed .

  6. lovely it looks, repeat the menu on s’day and let the men in blue repeat their winning performance !!

  7. Easy okra recipe like this always welcome. thanks for sharing.

  8. chitra says:

    Good idea to use olive oil. i will try. This methods sounds nice and yummy. will try soon

  9. kshipra says:

    By now u must be knowing that India won the match. Yippy!!
    pics of okra look so lively, ready to be eaten and yes, I luv bhindi too.

  10. Priti says:

    I love this one and you made it so fine

  11. aipi says:

    I think you should make bhindi again on Saturday and India will get the cup lol- Can’t wait to see Sachin with the World cup 🙂
    Go India!!

    US Masala

  12. Okra fry looks superbly inviting Suman 🙂 Bringing some chappatis and coming over 😛

  13. Namitha says:

    I enjoyed today’s match too 🙂 You’ll know if you read my latest post 😉
    I love okra the most when it is fried and this looks so good 🙂

  14. Priya says:

    My favourite anytime,just love with anything..

  15. Mary says:

    This looks and sounds delicious. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  16. My favorite veggie..delicious,makes me hungry

  17. Swathi says:

    Okra fry looks delicious, i love simple fries. India wins the semifinal.

  18. santosh says:

    tempting okra think just to grab it.
    1st time here nice space do visit and follow when time permits

  19. Me too …Finally we won..yeh cheers to India ….orka looks fab:)

  20. Joyti says:

    I don’t know anything about cricket, but at least I’ve heard of Sachin Tendulkar.
    And I checked the scores since you mentioned THIS particular game.
    I have an odd relationship with okra, as a little child I liked it, but after 8 or 9 or so, I couldn’t stand it anymore. But your shots are pretty!

  21. Krishnaveni says:

    easy and delicious recipe, looks great

  22. Nandini says:

    Delicious okra fry! I’m also a big fan of bhindi. My aunt used to tease me for eating this veggie regularly:)

  23. Nicole, RD says:

    When I lived in Europe I remember the excitement over the World Cup…it’s unmatched in the sporting world. I miss that!! And as for okra…after living in the south, I love it!! The recipe looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

