Kalakand

Posted: April 6, 2011 by incidentalcooksuman in Dessert, Indian Food, Sweets/Mithai
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Kalakand is a popular Indian sweet made out of solidified, sweetened milk and cottage cheese.This sweet had very rich, decadent and melt in mouth taste which definitely tops up the list of my favorite sweets.I have eaten this sweet all my life and loved it, but since we hardly gets some fresh sweets here, I have decided to try this one at home.

Traditionally, making kalakand requires very few ingredients but is a very long process. The only ingredient needed to make this sweet successful is PATIENCE and that too a loads of them!  🙂

Also, for Navratri, I wanted to make some sweet for the offering.  Navratri represents the celebration of Goddess Durga, It is one of the most celebrated festivals of Hindu calendar, where ‘Nav’ means ‘nine’ and ‘ratri’ means ‘night’. Basanta Navratri (translates to Spring Navratri), is the festival of nine days dedicated to the nine forms of Goddess Durga in the spring season.

This recipe has three parts. First is making paneer(fresh cottage cheese) out of whole milk, second condensing the milk and third but not the least combining this two together for heavenly delicious dessert you will ever put in your mouth…hmm..thats sounds exciting!! The whole process will take about 3-4 hours but believe me the end result is worth every bite. You may find short cuts for making this sweet but I have decided to go with authentic recipe with little twist of my own.

Kalakand

Kalakand

Ingredients:

For paneer:

  • 8 cups whole milk
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice

For Khoya:

  • 8 cups whole milk
  • 1  14 ounce can condensed milk
  • 2 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ghee
  • 2 tablespoon finely chopped pistachios
  • saffron strands for garnishing
Direction:
  • To start with, rinse a heavy bottom pan with water throughly, pour the milk for making paneer into the pan and boil the milk, stirring frequently and as the milk comes to boil, add lemon juice and stir the same gently.
  • You will notice the cheese will start separating from the whey, at this point of time turn off the heat.
  • Now drain the whey using a strainer lined with light cotton kitchen towel or muslin cloth. Also, rinse the paneer under cold water in order to get rid of any sourness from the lemon juice.
  • Wrap the cloth tightly and squeezed well as much as you can to get rid of excess water from the paneer. Tie the cloth and keep it  under heavy bottom casserole for about 1 hour. This will help in squeezing out excess water from the paneer. Once done keep it aside.

For making Khoya:

  • Again, take a heavy bottom pan and rinse the same with water throughly, the process is necessary to avoid burning or sticking of milk at the bottom.
  • Boil the remaining 8 cups of milk on medium flame, stirring frequently so that the milk does not burn. Reduce milk to about 1/4 of its quantity, this is the lengthy process and you can’t rush here. Keep stirring, little bit of help in stirring milk will be bonus. This process will take about 1  1/2 or 2 hour for milk to condensed as required.
  • After the milk has condensed and reduced,  at this stage, add paneer, ghee, condensed milk and sugar. Mix everything well and cook until the mixture is thick and  crumbly.
  • Line a brownie pan with parchment paper, grease the same with ghee and pour the above mixture evenly inside the pan.
  • Garnish with chopped pistachios and some saffron strands if you wish.
  • Let it cool for 1 hour and then cut in desired shapes and enjoy the goodness!!
Kalakand

Kalakand

One more closer look:

Kalakand

Kalakand

Comments
  1. exactly since beocz of long process i never wanted to try, macro shots are making me drool 🙂

  2. Looks so yum !!! Loved the clicks !!!

  3. Arundhuti says:

    My husband loved Kalakand. I’m surely trying your recipe soon. 🙂

  4. Tes says:

    Is this like Baffy? I love it… it looks so wonderful and delicious 🙂

  5. Joanne says:

    This looks so delicious! I adore Indian sweets and would love to try to make this!

  6. leena says:

    Kalakand is looking so perfect and delicious, just like the sweet shop one…Worth all that effort…

  7. kshipra says:

    wow!! kalakand looks so yummy. it’s truly worth the effort.

  8. sonia says:

    Oh my Gosh Suman, the kalakand is looking so good, i never tried it at home frm scratch, but now i am inspired and will certainly give it a shot…great job !

  9. Mary says:

    I love sweet things and this looks delicious. I know I’d enjoy it. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  10. Preety says:

    looks amazingly yummy

  11. Sarah Naveen says:

    awesome clicks..looks so perfect n yumm!!

  12. Padhu says:

    Wow really tempting .The close up shot makes me drool

  13. This is one of my fav which I never miss out when I go home , looks delicious!

  14. Priti says:

    Looks so delish …yum ….just so yummy

  15. Such a long process but worth to wait. It is delectable and pretty too….

  16. Kankana says:

    Kalakand is my FAV sweet. I don’t have a sweet tooth, so any sweet dish with syrup or too sweet never attracts me. But this is one such yummy sweet dish which is soo soft and cheesy and not all that sweet too! Thanks for sharing this recipe. It’s going in my wish list 🙂

  17. Simply Life says:

    ooh after reading your description I want to try this!

  18. RS says:

    Mouthwatering…Want to grab it right now..

  19. Sonali says:

    wow…kalakand…I absolutely love it….I’m drooling over these pics dear !

  20. Sushma says:

    Hi Suman,
    Thanks for visiting my space. You have a lovely space too. Kalakand is one of my favourites!! Yours looks mouth watering. Will surely give it a try!
    Sushma

  21. Priya says:

    Omg, irresistible…feel like having some rite now…yumm!

  22. Kalakand was my favorite childhood dessert. Your pictures are so tempting.

  23. Deepa says:

    Kalakand looks to be heavenly. Loved the clicks. Already drooling.

    Deepa
    Hamaree Rasoi

  24. Chaitanya says:

    simply superb ….. excellent …. mouth watering ….
    http://rajafood.blogspot.com/

  25. aipi says:

    Recipes with a twist are fun every now n then but I always prefer the the original authentic recipe- beautifully made kalakands- I bet the taste is worth all the effort 🙂

    US Masala

  26. Swathi says:

    Delicious Suman, my hubby is a fan of milk based sweets.I have to try it.

  27. Vimitha says:

    Looks so yummy and delicious

  28. Nandini says:

    Wow! I love to have some…Love the pictures.

  29. i love this sweet and am yet to try it out ! nice post , thx for sharing

  30. Looks absolutely perfect and delicious.. thanks for sharing dear 🙂
    Indian Cuisine

Leave a Reply

