Sabudana Khichdi

Posted: April 13, 2011 by incidentalcooksuman in Breakfast, Indian Food
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Sabudana is otherwise known as tapioca or sago pearls. Sabudana is really bland in taste and its full of starch and carbohydrates. Back home, mom used to make sweet pudding and savoury snack with sabudana during our religious fasting. To be honest, I never enjoyed the sweet version of this dish but love the savoury one.

Sabudana Khichdi

Sabudana Khichdi

Today I am going to share this easy, light and delicious recipe with sabudana which is called sabudana Khichdi. Sabudana khichdi is my all time favorite snack, which is made with crispy fried potatoes, crunchy crushed peanuts and fried with curry leaves and some spices. Initially, when I had first tried this making at home for myself, I ended up with sticky and mushy khichdi. The most important and first step is washing and soaking the sabudana in water. Too much of water will turn the sabudana seeds mushy and sticky. Less water will make the seeds hard, so first rinse the seeds couple of times in order to get rid of excess starch and then use water as needed to completely cover the sago seeds, not more than that. Let it sit for 30-45 minutes or until the water is absorbed by sabudana and it looks dry but not sticky.

Sabudana Khichdi

Sabudana Khichdi

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 large Idaho potato, peeled and cut in thin slices
  • 1  1/2 cups sabudana, washed and soaked
  • 1 green chillies, chopped
  • 9-10 curry leaves
  • 1 cup peanut roasted peeled and crushed into small bite sized pieces and some powdered.
  • 1 cup cilantro leaves
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon turmeric powder
  • salt to taste

Directions:

  • Wash the sago seeds in water. Then, drain the water and soak the sabudana in fresh water just enough to cover all the kernels. keep it aside for half an hour. The seeds should absorb all the water and not be sticky.
  • Heat oil in a pan over medium heat. Add the potatoes and cook until golden brown. Add green chillies, turmeric powder and salt to taste in between cooking the potatoes.
  • Now add the peanuts and curry leaves to the pan, stir the same.
  • Add the soaked sabudana/sago seeds into the pan and cook until sabudana becomes translucent or look like pearls. Keep stirring so that it doesn’t stick to the bottom of the pan.
  • Add lemon juice and cilantro and  stir gently.
  • Serve hot and Enjoy!
Sabudana Khichdi

Sabudana Khichdi

Comments
  1. Monali says:

    jst one addition if u wann to make it for fasting…try and avoid turmeric….. hope u dont mind this suggestion 🙂

  2. I wanted to try it for last year navratri, but couldn’t find a good recipe…shall try it soon…looks divine!

  3. Miriam says:

    Hi Suman, thank you for visiting my blog. :)..i have never made Sabudana Khicadi, but have shared it from colleagues n’ frnd who get it from home. I love it, i’m bookmarking this recipe to try it soon. 🙂

  4. Peggy says:

    This looks great!

  5. Panchpakwan says:

    All time fav..and your looks delicious..

  6. rebecca says:

    this looks so good new to me

  7. RS says:

    My favorite one…looks fabulous:)

  8. Sarah Naveen says:

    wow!!! yummy yumm!!! nice recipe n clicks..

  9. Pam says:

    It looks so delicious.

  10. suman that bowl’s making me hungry ! i love it, been a long time i made this–slurp

  11. I want that bowl of DELISH, RIGHT NOW!!! Makes me SO hungry and drooly! delicious post!!!!

  12. Arundhuti says:

    Looks perfect! very delicious..

  13. Malar Gandhi says:

    Beautiful Khichdi…very fulfilling one too:)

  14. Looks appetizing and you’ve done it perfectly! Thanks for the vote dear…

  15. Nandini says:

    Yum! Love the colour and texture of sabudana! Looks great!

  16. Soma says:

    one of my “I crave” dishes, as I do not make it as often myself. urs looks fantastic.

  17. Tanvi says:

    One of my favs during fasting days.Looks very delicious!

  18. Khichadi look so tempting.

  19. Swathi says:

    Looks awesome delicious sabudana khicdi love it

  20. Mary says:

    What a beautiful dish. It is really wonderful to look at. Tour photos are spectacular. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  21. aipi says:

    I am all for it anytime of the day..be it lunch, breakfast or dinner 🙂
    Loved your clicks !

    US Masala

  22. Kankana says:

    This is my husband’s fav and once I tried it .. it completely changed the meaning of Khichdi for me 🙂

  23. sharmi says:

    I too make them for vraths! looks very nice!

  24. Priya says:

    Its has been ages i had this khichdi, makes me hungry..

  25. Nicole, RD says:

    Curry leaves!? I want to find those! This looks light and perfect for spring!

  26. Deepa says:

    A very healthy and tasty looking khichdi. Always game to have it any point of time.

    Deepa
    Hamaree Rasoi

  27. Khichdi looks super delicious….

  28. Kichidi with sago seems so excellent dear. Never tasted it before.

  29. Joanne says:

    I’ve never seen tapioca prepared in a savory way before! How intriguing!

  30. kshipra says:

    Looks perfect. use of turmeric is new to me but lends a nice, appetizing color.

  31. biny Anoop says:

    hey dis looks fab………perfect texture

Leave a Reply

