Nan Khatai

Posted: April 27, 2011 by incidentalcooksuman in Baking, Indian Food
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Baking cookies, cake or even using an oven  is what I have learned after coming to US. Also, we used to refer cookies as biscuits. But here biscuits are kind of quick bread like butter milk biscuits, scones and etc. I love biscuits and there were times when I used to finish a whole packet without sharing even a single piece with anyone. My most favorite packet of biscuit used to be Britannia Good Day Biscuits especially with the nuts one..mmm…while writing this post I am totally visualizing the flavor in my mouth. The taste of biscuits were more crispy, soft and buttery which is so addictive.

Since I was in a mood of baking some cookies, I have decided to make some Nan Khatai. Nan Khatai(Naan Khat-aa-ee) is a popular Indian traditional biscuits. These are extremely light but sweet and just melts in the mouth. Traditionally this is made with clarified butter or “ghee”, but i have used unsalted butter here.These are the best cookies I have ever tried, which is very simple to make and incredibly good. Its is best served with a cup of tea or you can munch in between anytime to feel good… 🙂

Nan Khatai

Nan Khatai

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup semolina
  • 3/4 cup butter at room temperature
  • 2 tablespoon yogurt
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1  1/3 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda

For topping

  • 2 tablespoon crushed pistachios
  • 1 teaspoon cardamom powder
Nan Khatai

Nan Khatai

Method:

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
  • Mix the ingredients under topping and keep it aside for later use.
  • Sift flour, baking soda and semolina  in a medium bowl. Keep it aside.
  • Line two baking sheet with parchment paper and keep it aside.
  • In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat the butter and powdered sugar together on medium-high speed until light and fluffy.
  • Add yogurt and vanilla and mix until fully incorporated.
  • Add the dry ingredients and  knead them together to make smooth  and soft dough.
  • Divide the dough into about 20 equal parts and make them into balls.
  • Flatten balls between the palms of your hands to form small rounds about 1″ (inch) in thickness. Transfer it to the prepared baking sheet.
  • With your thumb finger make a little depression in the centre of each cookie and place the pistachio and cardamom mixture in it.Lightly press the mixture in dough.
  • Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, until lightly browned. Transfer the cookies to a baking rack and cool completely.
  • Bake one sheet at a time for perfectly baked biscuits.
  • Store biscuits in an airtight container at room temperature.
  • Enjoy with a cup of tea!
Nan Khatai

Nan Khatai

Note:

  • Yogurt and butter should be at room temperature.
  • Bake one sheet at a time to insure a perfectly baked  biscuits.
Comments
  1. Rosa says:

    What beautiful cookies! They must taste so refined and have a lovely texture.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. They look so very pretty Suman! all in uniform size wow!

  3. Padhu says:

    Looks irresistible !

  4. wow what a lovely naan khatais, melt in mouth kinda.. pics are highly appealing

  5. Kankana says:

    One of my all time fav cookies and I remember buying those a lot from bakery in India. I really should make these sometime .. looks so yummy and perfect 🙂

  6. Namitha says:

    Love them…and this looks quite irresistible 🙂

  7. Are you kidding me!!! You are the best…nothing beats nan khatai and yours looks delectable…love the pista topping 🙂

    chow! Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  8. Mary says:

    These really look delicious. I love the pistachio topping. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  9. kshipra says:

    wow! they look gorgeous.

  10. Raji says:

    Perfectly made…love the nuts on top.

  11. Seema says:

    Hey Suman,

    The nan khatais are absolutely tempting. Thay have come out purrfect and I can imagine the crunchy texture by looking at the clicks.

    Regards,
    Seema
    amchi-bong-konnexion.blogspot.com
    seemabbas.blogspot.com

  12. Simply Life says:

    oh what a fun baked treat!

  13. uma says:

    looks inviting! … next time i’ll try adding yogurt.. nice!

  14. Anjali says:

    I’ve been trying Nan Khatai for the last few months but never came well in my microwave. I’ll try your recipe in an oven this time and I’m sure it will come out great….lovely pictures dear…if I had been there, I’d have grabbed them all. 🙂
    Thanks for dropping by my space; I’m glad you visited and liked it. 🙂

  15. Anjali says:

    Nan Khatai was what I’ve been trying to make for the last few months but never came well in my microwave; will try your recipe in an Oven this time and I’m sure it will come out great…lovely pictures dear…if I were there, I’d have grabbed all. 🙂
    Thanks for dropping by my space; I’m glad you visited and liked it. 🙂

  16. Tes says:

    Ohhh wow I love these cookies 🙂 I bought them and ate them a lot without even know their name. Now I can learn to bake them 🙂

  17. Nankhatai looks out of the world.

  18. Swathi says:

    Nankhati looks awesome delicious. I wish i could be your neighbor.

  19. Laavanya says:

    They have come out perfectly.. i recently made some too but with different proportions and using ghee… Have to try your version.
    I’m loving your Nutella bread… looks so good. Bookmarked!

  20. aipi says:

    They looks so plump n perfect- these are dad’s all time fav cookies 🙂
    US Masala

  21. Deepa says:

    These are highly addictive . I can have 5-6 nan khatai in minutes. Looks perfect

    Deepa
    Hamaree Rasoi

  22. Pam says:

    Yum! They look really delicious.

  23. Katerina says:

    I haven’t heard of these cookies. They look delicious!

  24. Sunanda says:

    Thnx a lot for the recipe.. I was searching for this…

  25. Bonnie says:

    I’m so glad you stopped by my blog. We like Indian dishes. I learned to prepare many from a good friend from New Delhi when we lived in Charleston, S.C.. I usually have all the herbs and spices on hand to prepare curries and other delicious dishes from India.

    These “biscuits” look delicious.

    Best,
    Bonnie

  26. Hi.. Perfect looking nankhatais. Loved ut nutella bread. U have a lovely set of recipes in ur blog. All looking very good. YUM! Happy to know abt ur blog…

  27. nisha says:

    this is most certainly one of my favs to munch on

  28. rebecca says:

    he he in the Uk we also call cookies biscuits

  29. Sharada says:

    Hi! Thank you dropping by and leaving a nice comment 🙂 Nan khatai look perfect! I have tried it twice and mine fall flat. Gotta try ur recipe soon.

  30. Panchpakwan says:

    Irresistable and yummy nan khatai..Beautiful clicks too!

  31. biny Anoop says:

    wow i want dat now…love nan khatais….ooo i miss mumbai

  32. Nandini says:

    Wow! I love nan khatais! They look tempting and delicious!

  33. Yummy and delicious… looks perfect !!
    Indian Cuisine

  34. daksha says:

    AH, the simple classics never fail…so tempting.

  35. Lubna Karim says:

    Simply yum recipe…looks awesome…perfect evening snack….

  36. Rachana says:

    Hey Suman,

    These nankhatai looks lovely and the nutella bread recipe is simply awesome.

  37. Sanjeeta kk says:

    The cookies look crisp and scrumptious!

  38. Priya says:

    Would like to have some nan khattais rite now, seriously tempts me a lot..

Leave a Reply

