Kundri Rice

Posted: May 20, 2011 by incidentalcooksuman in Indian Food
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Everyone’s loves one pot meal and I am not an exception. I am always in search of delicious and easy one pot meal with minimal ingredients. So, recently while blog hopping, I came across this delicious tendali bhaat on Cinnamon n Chillies which I have bookmarked. Tendali (Ivy gourd) or Kundri is one of the most favorite veggie in our home which is very simple to make and have wonderful taste. I had a friend staying with us last week, she gave me this idea as well to make this delicious tendali rice. In a weeks time I have already made this twice and hence you can imagine how easy and tasty it is:

Ingredients:

  • 2  1/2 cups cooked basmati rice
  • 1/2 pound kundri/ivy gourd, slit in four pieces, length wise
  • 1 medium white onion, sliced
  • 4 green chillies, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 teaspoon mustard seeds
  • 1/2 teaspoon turmeric powder
  • 1 teaspoon coriander powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon red chilli powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon garam masala powder
  • 3 tablespoon tamarind pulp
  • 1/4 cup  peanuts
  • 2 tablespoon Channa dal, soaked in water for 30 minutes
  • 2 tablespoon olive oil plus 1/2 teaspoon

Method:

  • In a pan, heat one teaspoon of oil, add peanuts, fry them until they turn light brown. Remove from the pan to a plate, keep them aside.
  • In the same pan, heat another 2 tablespoon of oil over medium high heat, add mustard seeds. When the mustard seeds pop, add the green chillies, soaked Channa dal and sliced onions. Stir fry until onions are lightly brown.
  •  Add the turmeric powder, coriander powder, red chilli powder, garam masala powder with salt, stir.  Let it cook on medium heat for a couple of minutes.
  •  Then add the kundri/tenali/ivy gourd to the onion masala mixture. Stir and cover until the ivy gourd is cooked, but crisp.
  •  Add the tamarind pulp, stir to mix well , cover the pan and cook  until all the tamarind pulp is absorbed by the veggies.
  •  Now add the cooked basmati rice and fried peanuts to the pan and gently mix everything together.
  • Take off the heat and serve hot.

Enjoy!!

Comments
  1. kankana says:

    I only way I have been eating kundri is by frying it with onions. This would be a nice way to try too!

  2. Mary says:

    This really looks delicious. I love rice dishes and know I would enjoy your pilaf. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  3. ivy gourd my fav veg with rice seriously …have to try fab it is!

  4. Ushnish Ghosh says:

    Dear Suman
    I am delighted to read your comment at my blog. I was not very sure about getting notification on word press postings. Now I can do it.
    I like this recipe and the concept of one dish . We Bongs generally need few dishes as minimum to eat ( not me ). I will try your recipe with Kunduri, havent eaten it for ages.
    Even I have forgotten When is Kunduri season. ha ha .
    I have a good mind to try the Nan Khatai..generally I am not very successful so far in making Nan Khatai..some thing or other goes wrong..and the market ones are full of soda, so much so that you can get that soda taste. Anyway nothing deters me try my favorites.
    Have a nice Sunday

  5. Saranya says:

    Wow..You have a wonderful space here Suman..Great effort.
    Kundri rice looks awesome and delicious..
    Saranya
    http://www.foodandtaste.blogspot.com/

  6. Priya says:

    Simply inviting and delicious rice, quick and filling..

  7. kshipra says:

    looks wonderful. need to try this. Thanks for sharing suman.

  8. Pari Vasisht says:

    Dear Suman,
    Tindlis are my favourite too and the rice looks so very tempting.

  9. Nandini says:

    The rice is so nice for lunch! It looks spicy and mouthwatering!

  10. Reva says:

    This is completely new to me:) I love the spicy blend and the rice looks awesome:)
    Reva

  11. Pushpa says:

    We call this vegetable as kundru.Tangy and tasty kundru rice.

  12. Sobha Shyam says:

    This is new to me..ivy gourd rice looks excellent..flavourful and colourful rice..

  13. aipi says:

    This has been in my to do list for a while now ~ will bookmark the recipe 🙂
    Nice n sharp pics Suman, love anything kundri 🙂
    US Masala

  14. Swathi says:

    Tindora rice looks delicious, love to try them.

  15. Deepa says:

    Rice looks so fabulous and colorfully delicious. Feeling hungry just by looking at it.

    Deepa
    Hamaree Rasoi

  16. Interesting recipe.. looks so tempting !!
    Indian Cuisine

  17. Sarah Naveen says:

    A very different recipe ..!!! love tindora , so sure i will like it..Gotta try!!

  18. biny anoop says:

    wow the grains looks fab…love the rice with a difference

  19. Priti says:

    wow love the this idea …looks very yum

  20. This rice pilaf looks so moist and so full of flavor! I need to make it soon, as I have a lot of basmati in my pantry!

Leave a Reply

