Pesto

Posted: May 25, 2011 by incidentalcooksuman in Italian, Pasta
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Recently, we have been to farmers market and there I saw some fresh and beautiful basil leaves which was very difficult to pass by. Hence even without thinking of any recipe I have decided to buy two bunches of those fresh herbs. It was so fresh that I was in love with the sweet and pungent smell of the leaves. Immediately after coming home,I started looking for some recipes with it. Then thought the best way to use both the bunches would be making some pesto.

The word pesto derives from the Italian for pestle, pestello. Pesto is a versatile sauce, can be made in different ways using different ingredients. Traditionally it is made with basil leaves and olive oil using a mortar and pestle. I have had a pesto pasta long time ago in one of Italian restaurant. Ever since then, I wanted to make some  at home. To my surprise, this is the easiest and versatile sauce to make. You can pair this with any kind of pasta and make a light and fresh meal anytime. Also, pesto can be used in marination for veggies, fish and chicken dishes.

Ingredients:

  • 3 1/2 cup packed fresh basil leaves
  •  1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  •  2 tablespoon toasted pine nuts
  •  2 tablespoon toasted walnuts
  •  3 cloves garlic
  •  1/4 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese
  •  1 teaspoon salt
  •  freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Method:

  • In a food processor fitted with a steel blade, add the pine nuts, walnuts, garlic and process for 1 minute or so.
  •  Add the fresh herbs, parmesan cheese and run until it’s a thick paste.
  •  Slowly drizzle in the olive oil until the paste leaves the sides of the bowl and looks like a thick sauce.
  •  Serve, or store the pesto in the refrigerator or freezer with a thin-film of olive oil on top.

Comments
  1. daksha says:

    Hi suman! Pesto is looks so green and creamy and pasta is just yummmm…. lovely recipe but here i’m not find out pine nuts :(.

  2. Dear Suman
    How are you? I feel good reading your appreciation on my Gujarat blog. I am mostly off blog these days. I was planning to make Pesto because I finally got some Parmesan cheese from Italy. ( Yet to find a place here where I can get this). So now I can make it. I note the use of walnut also. Now let me see what all I have missed, starting from the stuffed Simla mirch
    Have a nice day

  3. Amazing color and rick looking pesto.

  4. kankana says:

    I just love pesto sauce.. and with pasta it’s my fav!

  5. love pesto Its been a while since i made it you have inspired me

  6. FANTASTICO! Wonderfully luscious pesto! mm mm good 🙂

  7. Usha says:

    Lovely color! Pesto is so versatile and can added to almost anything you can think of. It does taste good with pasta and love the pasta picture

  8. Sadhana says:

    Delicious pesto, love the color.

  9. Sridevi says:

    Pasta and pesto, a lovely combo to go……tempting Mango Icecream with a nice presentation..

  10. Love that you used both pine nuts and walnuts in the pesto…so very lovely Suman 🙂

    chow! Devaki @ weavethousandflavors

  11. Plateful says:

    You pics always make me sigh in appreciation – wonderful color and so saucy! The last close up is a beauty Suman!

  12. I know what you mean: Seeing fresh basil does that to me too I have to get some and make pesto! Great recipe!

  13. Parita says:

    Pesto looks flavorful! Lovely green color!

  14. Krishnaveni says:

    wow, what a colour, great

  15. Simply Life says:

    I looove homemade pesto!

  16. Mary says:

    Pesto always has such gorgeous color. Yours looks especially appealing and I’ll wager it is delicious. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  17. Kothiyavunu says:

    What an easy and yummy dish! I LOVE pesto, YUM!

  18. aipi says:

    I am a pesto fanatic :)) the color n texture looks fab Suman !
    US Masala

  19. fresh basil, farmers market ….i’m envy! and pesto looks gorgeous and pasta would be SO good with fresh pesto…could you ship me some?

  20. Choclette says:

    Your sauce looks beautifully smooth. I love pesto but haven’t made it in a long time. More recently I made some with sage leaves and walnuts, that was good, but quite a strong flavour.

  21. kshipra says:

    lovely color suman. must be very flavorful.

  22. pesto looks good, the bow-tie pasta with the sauce looks inviting

  23. Pam says:

    I love pesto – yours looks fantastic!

  24. Sarah Naveen says:

    love the color…I always keep a jar in my fridge..So quick and yummy right..nice recipe dear!!

  25. Joanne says:

    I ADORE pesto and this sounds delicious! I bet it tastes like summer!

  26. Deepa says:

    Hi Suman,
    I tried your banana-walnut bread which u adapted from all recipes. It came out fantastic. Thank you so much dear. Will post soon

  27. Interesting using pinenuts and walnuts together in basil pesto – sounds yum I will try it!

  28. Namitha says:

    You got the perfect color…lovely !

  29. Priya says:

    Wat a flavourful and fantastic pesto..

  30. RS says:

    Pasta looks very delicious 🙂

  31. Deepa says:

    Pesto looks very colourful and thick. Must have tasted delicious as well.

    Deepa
    Hamaree Rasoi

  32. Pesto looks superb…

  33. biny anoop says:

    hey nice recipe suman…i normally make pesto with corianser leaves,walnuts,garlic and green chillies for pasta….similar slightly…thx for the share will try it out

  34. Reva says:

    Yummy pesto… I love anything with basil and nuts:)
    Reva

  35. Priti says:

    I just need that platter to relish ….looks so gud n I love pesto

  36. Love pesto sauce…lovely recipe as well:)

Leave a Reply

