Parwal/Parora (Pointed Gourd) Aloo Sabzi

Posted: August 22, 2011 by incidentalcooksuman in Curries, Indian Food
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Last weekend we went to Edison, New Jersey with our friends to get Ganesha Idol for forthcoming puja at their place, we also visited one Indian grocery store. I was total lost in that store. After so many years I was seeing a big Indian grocery store, with indian music all around and the best thing was I was able to find so many things for which even I had forgotten the names. At first I was like what to take and from where to start. I didn’t expect a indian grocery store that big and full of every possible ingredient you can imagine. Really…even I saw some pan leaves in that store… 🙂 I also got one of my favorite vegetable which brings me to today’s post.

I’m going to share with you my favorite sabzi recipe for parora/parwal, also known as pointed gourd. Parwal is a popular vegetable in India, especially in Eastern and Northern India. Parval is very popular among the Bihari Cuisine and a healthy vegetable, as my mom will say.  This vegetable looks like tiny cucumbers or squash, with tapering ends. Parwal, belongs to the family of Cucurbits (cucumber, squash, etc.).  It is a good source of carbohydrates, vitamin A and vitamin C.

Back home, my mom used to prepare this vegetable a lot. During the season, mom will make simple stir fried to go with dal(lentils) and rice. She will also make spicy curry to go along with indian breads(roti or paratha). The crispy nature of this vegetable even after it has been cooked along with potatoes, gives the unique taste and crunch, which I love.

Pointed Gourd (Parwal) Sabzi

Pointed Gourd (Parwal) Sabzi

Ingredients:

  • 10-15 parwal, cut in big cubes
  • 1 medium-sized potato, peeled and cut in cubes
  • 1 white onion, chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1-inch of ginger
  • 2-3 green chillies
  • 1 medium-sized tomato, chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon turmeric powder
  • 1 teaspoon coriander powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon sweet paprika powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon tawa masala
  • 1/4 teaspoon garam masala powder
  • 2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2-3 bay leaves
  • 1/2 teaspoon amchur powder
  • salt to taste
Pointed Gourd (Parwal) Sabzi

Method:

  • Wash the parwal and cut the ends, slightly scrape the outer skin and slice lengthwise into four quarters or big cubes.
  • Take half of the chopped onion, garlic, green chillies, ginger and grind them into a fine paste in a blender.Keep it aside.
  • Heat 1 tablespoon of oil in a pan over medium high heat, add the parwal and fry on medium flame till it obtains a nice color on the skin. once done, transfer the fried veggies in a plate. In the same pan sauté the cubed potatoes till they get a slight golden color. Again transfer to a plate and keep it aside.
  • In the same pan heat the remaining oil. Add cumin and let it splutter, later add bay leaves. Sauté. Add the remaining chopped onions, give it a stir and fry till they get a light color and turn translucent. Add the ginger, garlic and the onion puree you made earlier and cook for 3-4 minutes more .
  •  Add chopped tomatoes, salt, turmeric, coriander powder, garam masala powder, tawa masala, sweet paprika powder and stir. Cover and cook for 4 min. You will notice the tomatoes have softened and the oil has separated.
  • Add the fried parwal and potatoes and mix well, stir and cook for 2 min. Add  water and let it simmer for 5 min or till gravy is of desired consistency. Sprinkle the amchur powder and mix well.
  • Serve hot with roti and enjoy!!
Pointed Gourd (Parwal) Sabzi

Pointed Gourd (Parwal) Sabzi

Comments
  1. After ages i heard this name parora for parval….Loved this recipe and i am reminded of the way my mom used to cook this curry. A absolutely love this veggie in any form….even a mashed parval.

    Great blog!!!

  2. Juliana says:

    I never had pointed gourd…but already like how you prepared it…looks delicious with all the spices.
    Hope you are having a wonderful week Suman 🙂

  3. Tadka Pasta says:

    Yummy looking parwal sabzis. Never knew we liked them till we moved to a place where we don’t get any!

  4. Ramya says:

    Thanks for this recipe. When I was in Bangalore, I used to wonder what to make with this vegetable whenever I see this in market. Never tried any recipe with it…This one looks and sounds yummy..

  5. Never had parwal and potatoes together, looks amazing suman! Parwal is my fav veggie…

  6. Priya says:

    WOnderful pair to serve along with rotis,super delicious..

  7. sheeba says:

    The combination of my two fav vegies this sure is a must try……….. love the amazing clicks and thanx for the detailed recipe………….. love your blog will try it soon ……………… its sooooooooooooooooooooooo tempting:)

  8. Looks delicious! I have not eaten this gourd before. Would love to try it.
    I can imagine how happy you are at finding the store! I found an Indian grocery store that has most items which I could not get elsewhere, my sisters say that I’m happier than striking the jackpot! Not that I have strike any jackpot before! : o)

  9. Deepa says:

    Great combination of Parwal and Potato. Preparation looks awesome.

    Deepa
    Hamaree Rasoi

  10. kankana says:

    My mom makes these stuffed parwal and i always loved those. Out here, It’s really tough to find good fresh parwals. This dish looks so lovely.

  11. Sobha Shyam says:

    sabzi looks delicious, this veggie is new to me…nice recipe..

  12. sayantani says:

    one of my fav summer veg. you cooked it in such a beautiful way…looks delicious.

  13. Uma says:

    looks delicious. Nice dish.

  14. This sounds like a really delicious dish. I love the look of the sauce!

  15. Vatsala says:

    This is my favorite too. Nice presentation.

  16. Priti says:

    Love this …long time I made it …don’t get gud parwal here ….yours looks fab and am craving now 😦

  17. Shri says:

    I am like a kid in a candy store everytime I go to Edison. Your dish is mouthwatering..

  18. I absolutely love this subzi, and also adore your style of cooking parwal,, a must try out…Thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

