Whole Wheat Banana Chocolate Chips Muffins

Posted: July 25, 2012 by incidentalcooksuman in Baking, Breakfast, Cupcakes, Muffins
Tags: , , , , ,
Whole Wheat Banana Chocolate Chips Muffins

Whole Wheat Banana Chocolate Chips Muffins

I love muffins. They are so easy to make and perfect for breakfast or snacking in between. Its been a while since I made muffins at home. Every week during our grocery shopping, I was getting some Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Muffins from Wegmans. Finally yesterday I thought to bake some at home. I am glad i did because these muffins are light, flavorful and delicious. And the best part of these muffins is that they are not too sweet, the way I wanted. I love these muffins with a cup of tea.

Whole Wheat Banana Chocolate Chips Muffins

Whole Wheat Banana Chocolate Chips Muffins

Ingredients: 

  • 2 cups white whole wheat flour
  • 2 extra large eggs, at room temperature
  • 3 large ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup light olive oil
  • 1/2 cup 2% milk
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Method:

  • Preheat the oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit and place liners in a muffin pan.
  • Sift together the flour, baking powder, salt and sugar in a large bowl. Then add the chocolate chips to the flour mixture.
  • In another mixing bowl, blend the bananas on low speed  for 3-5 minutes until well mashed.
  • Add the oil, milk, eggs, and vanilla and mix again on low speed for 1 minute until combined.
  • Add the dry ingredients to the banana mixture and combine until just blended. Don’t over mix the batter.
  • Divide batter equally among muffin cups, filling about 3/4 full.
  • Bake muffins 20-25 minutes, until tops are starting to brown and a toothpick inserted comes out clean.
  • Remove pan from oven and let cool on a rack for 5-20 minutes then remove muffins to a rack to cool to room temperature.
Whole Wheat Banana Chocolate Chips Muffins

Whole Wheat Banana Chocolate Chips Muffins

Comments
  1. Abhilash says:

    Hi Suman,

    Nice recipe.
    I love muffins but my stomach comes bulging when I try it to my interest.
    My gym master says not to have oily or fatty eatables. My friends ask me to try them as this is when I would be able to have them without a fear rather than trying it when I am old.

    I listen to both and try them when I feel I am ready for some oil. I am new to baking and cake is something I have tried twice with 99% success.

    I shall give it a try to see if I am fit to enter the baking.

    Wishing you a great day ahead!

    Regards,
    Abhi

Leave a Reply

